Mesa card performance

More
04 May 2015 01:41 #58359 by Ncmill.ts
This is my first time on this forum and i have a few question that hopfully some one could help me with and jump start my Electronic build a Little .
First off im building a large gantry type router that will serve as a plasma cutter as well (outer size of frame is 2500mm*2200mm).

I have bought a new Kinco ac servo system ,two 1880watts and one 750watts servo with amplifiers.
now im looking at different mesa card combos,have reed on this forum and mesa home page what i could find on these cards
but still a Little confused wich one to chose.
kinco servo can handle both step\dir 500khz and analog torque\velocity modes with different update frequenzies.
wether im using analog or step\dir is a later question.

first question :can i expect any differens in servo performance if i chose the cheaper plug and go kit 5125\7177 instead of a 5120 combo or a Little more expensive one like the 5122.
is there any differens in the fpga cards speed\servo update time etc that i have to take in consideration?
the machine will be 5 axis in the future but for now 3 axis untill everything starts working.

2:fpga size 400k.800k.1MB is important for firmware size if im not misstaken,but how "big" fpga is needed for a 5 axis machine with maybe a simple toolchanger and Nothing else and maybe some one can give me an example of Machines that need a "big Fpga".

if some one could shed some light on these question a would deeply appreciated it,the World of Electronics and programming is not my strong side.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 May 2015 01:55 #58360 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Mesa card performance
For a step/dir setup I would use a 5I25/6I25 + 7I76 card set,
for a analog servo setup I would use a 5i25/6i25+ 7i77 card set.

There is no real advantage of the older 5I20/5I22 FPGA cards systems for motion control