jog works but no movement with program

More
16 Aug 2015 01:14 #61416 by Mike29
Hi,
Newbie here and I just completed assembling a x,y, z router cnc machine. I have LinuxCNC working on an old Pentium IV and can successfully get through a StepConf setup and to the AXIS interface. I can also manually jog all three axis, however when I try to run the (any) g code program only the Z axis responds, X and Y just sit there. The LEDs on the controller board are flashing correctly to the inputs from the parallel port but no axis movement and when I swap motor cables between axis the problem problem stays with the original output. In other words the z axis port can move the x and y axis if I move the motor cable to that output. Any suggestions other then a bad controller? The controller is using the TB6560 chip and there is one for each axis. There is no manufacturer identification other then the TB 6560 on the circuit board.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 Aug 2015 03:11 #61421 by andypugh

I can also manually jog all three axis, however when I try to run the (any) g code program only the Z axis responds, X and Y just sit there. .

Do you mean that you can jog in Stepconf in the test, or that you can actually jog in the final machine config, but not run a program?

Are the stepper motors locked or free? (This indicates whether the drives are enabled).

What happens if you (temporarily) edit the HAL file to set the Z axis to drive the X axis parallel port pins? (this is like your hardware swap tests, but inside the software, and indicates whether XY pulses are being sent or not)

More
16 Aug 2015 16:55 - 16 Aug 2015 16:58 #61429 by cncbasher
have you connected the enable pin ?

make sure the enable pin from the tb6560 is connected in your hal file
to x-enable y-enable etc ( does not matter which )
and then make sure you have it working the correct way , you may need to invert the pin