Mesa Spinx1 and Minarik 32001A

More
15 Nov 2015 14:12 - 15 Nov 2015 14:14 #65282 by comjon
Some history first, skip this paragraph if you choose. It seems many older hobby milling centers, the likes of Spectralights and Light Machines, are gathering dust, and this should not be the case. They are cost effective, capable, and when one considers the need for training, a great place to start in a (relatively) safer 110v and lower crash consequence environment. In keeping with the philosophy of LinuxCNC, keeping the cost of entry low to bring as many into the community makes these mill centers an ideal place to begin. IANAEE (I am not an electrical engineer), but I have skimmed the HAL guide, worked through the StepConf, played with the HalScope and HalMeter, and waded tirelessly through circuit diagrams to try and get things done on my own, and post only when completely clueless where to go next. I'd like to get beyond declaring success in terms of something not smoking when plugged (not that this has been a problem) and get on with things working as they ought to. This seems a light weight topic compared to others in this forum.

I have two parports, my first working correctly with my driver box and servos, the second in an attempt for spindle control. I chose the Mesa Spinx1 and have wired it directly to my 2nd parallel port. the Spinx1 is wired to my Minarik 32001A , an older but standard board on the Spectralight mill center. At this point, I believe I need a proper HAL file to get my Spinx1 powered up. I am guessing there are missing or incorrect net and setp commands. Terminals on the Spinx1 to parport read 3VDC, terminals on the Minarik 32001 and Spinx1 to Minarik terminals all read 5VDC. Wiring to the parport pins matches what the attached HAL file reads. I can supply photos of the Spinx1 and Minarik if helpful.

Thank you for any input.
Attachments:
Last edit: 15 Nov 2015 14:14 by comjon. Reason: removed reference to photos