Mesa based retrofit (analog servos, ethernet)

More
08 Dec 2018 18:20 #122057 by Juckix
Hi everyone. I am fairly new to EMC2 but do know my way around electronics and Linux. I am currently working on a project retrofitting a milling machine that currently has a Siemens Sinumerik 810M NC system installed, which we now want to exchange for a modern PC system. The spindle is controlled with a 10V or a +-10V analog signal and also has some other non-critical control and diagnostics signals. The servo drivers seem to be run by +-10V analog signals, though I'm not sure if they are in torque or velocity control mode.

I was wondering a few things, mostly regarding the hardware.

First off, I am wondering what the process for setting up Mesa Anything I/O hardware with EMC2 is. I have searched a bit but the discussion is usually about picking boards and discussing what they're capable of, rather than a general setup instruction. Would it be correct to assume that it's essentially plugging in the boards, flashing the correct firmware and then doing configuration in the PC software?

The hardware I was considering was a 7I93 or a 7I80HD-25 (though I don't understand what the reason for the price difference is) as the FPGA board and then either a 7I33TA or a 7I48 board for the motor controls and something like a 7i37TA for general I/O (endstops, pumps). I picked Ethernet cards instead of the more common PCI cards because I want the flexibility to change the PC hardware more easily if needed, and as it's easier to find and maintain for us. Is this reasonable or is Ethernet not suited for this type of application? I know the 7180HD has a HostMot2 firmware file available but the repository says that the files are 3 years old. (github.com/LinuxCNC/hostmot2-firmware/tree/master/src)