7i94 vs 7i92M / 7i74 combination?

More
15 Oct 2019 12:34 #147927 by ross_dev
Hi

I would like to connect our PC via an Ethernet MESA Anything I/O board, and I have some experience with the 7i92M and a 7i74 breakout combination. In past applications and the present one, this chains onto a set of STMBL drives, hence the need for the RJ45 connectors to the drives.

We need to send PWM signals to BLDC motors, with encoders (closed loop control). Is there any reason why the 7i74 would be inappropriate for this?

As an alternative, with the 7i94 is a breakout board required, or does it fulfil the function of both an Ethernet board and breakout board combination? If it can do both it is very appealing, combining PC / Ethernet connection and an array of RJ45 connectors in one package.

Thanks for your ongoing help!
RD

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Oct 2019 12:37 #147928 by tommylight
It sure looks like
7i92+7i74 = 7i94 plus DB25 !
The following user(s) said Thank You: ross_dev

More
15 Oct 2019 13:28 #147929 by ross_dev
The only possible fly in the ointment is that the 7i94 has capacity for only "one PWM generator". I do not fully understand whether LCNC or the motion control card generates the PWM signals, which we need to drive our BLDC's. If I am going with a potentially high latency laptop, and taking advantage of the motion control card to do the heavy lifting, would this mean I need FIVE PWM generators to drive all my motors?

Or is this handled by the eight SmartSerial Connections on the 7i94? I still have a great deal of learning around these topics so I apologise for the multiple questions.

I believe there is an additional daughterboard to increase I/O options, but I am not sure if this solves the "PWM generation" problem (if there even is one). Any advice would be much appreciated!

Cheers

More
15 Oct 2019 15:32 #147934 by PCW
A 7I94 _is_ basically a 7I92+7I74 (that mounts in a 107MM DIN tray)