Question regarding MESA 7i97 analog output

More
16 Jun 2021 22:29 #212229 by Richard1987
Hello everybody,

I am very new in this forum,and I am a bloody LinuxCNC beginner too.

we got an old bridge mill with YASKAWA analog servodrives (CACR-SR...).
Goal is to do the control of the mill with LinuxCNC via the 7i97 from MESA.
We got a PC with Debian 10 and LinuxCNC 2.8.0.

Before we establish a link to the mill we want to check the 7i97 on the table, learning how to control the board.
The analog outputs of the 7i97 are visualised by oscilloscope, putting a 10kOhm load between ANAout and GND,
the encoder input signals are generated by a piece of hardware (signal generator plus 1 inverter and 2 flipflops), simulating the four signals QA, /QA, QB, /QB of the encoder, and with an additional switch the QB lines can be crossed simulating change of turn direction.

the first approach by using a set of *.ini and *.hal found in this forum, was not successfully, it seemed that the hostmot driver could not recognize the 7i97.

as second approach the pncconf was used, selecting the 7i80hd with SV12 configuration. After that the *.hal-file was manually modified, changing all "7i80hd" to "7i97".
The result was that the axis window opened. There was one error message "hm2: firmware contain unknown function". This could be ignored, seemed to have no impact.
- each of the configured 3 axes could be addressed. Analog outputs respond and encoder inputs result were displayed (xyz)
- when applying steps of 1mm, the encoder must follow to achieve an equal display value. If not, an error message appears (e.g. "joint 2 following error").

The problem seems to be the analog output. In the 7i97 manual the output voltage range is defined by +/-10V. This means, the range should be from -10V to +10V. My understanding is that if the encoder is behind the target position, the voltage should be positive, when it is ahead of the target position, the output voltage should be negative.