Can someone validate my conceptual wiring of MESA daughtercards ?

More
06 May 2022 12:04 - 06 May 2022 12:07 #242126 by benguru
Hi, I am very new to Linux CNC, coming from Mach3 (for a hobby) and Fanuc professionally, and I would love to get some validation on my purchase decision that will be coming very soon.I want to make all the electricals and control work before starting the mechanicals of my future hobby machine.My system will be comprised of three boxes:
  1. The PC control box, housing the PC and a 6i25 in PCIe with the dual DB25 port add-on
  2. The CNC box, housing the 7i85s and 7i78. The 7i85s will be dedicated to the motion control of the 4 step/dir steper motor and quadrature feedback encoders. The 7i78 will control the spindle and all remaining IOs (limit switches, indicator, HMI switches)
  3. The MPG box, connected to the 7i85s via the RS422 connection.Attached is a diagram of my vision for the electricals of the machine.
Question 1
Can someone tell me if there is a caveat that a newbie could have misunderstood and/or if the BIT and PIN file for the 6i25 with such an setup exists ?

Question 2
I think that I understood correctly that a specific file has to be flashed to the MESA anything I/O card for each individual daughter card configuration, correct ? How would I go about producing the right PIN and BIT file ? This is done by playing around with .vhd files, but how and which ones ?

Question 3
Does the diagram attached seems reasonnable ?

Thanks a lot in advance, I am looking forward to understand in more details how this cards interract, and how to create the proper configuration for them.
Attachments:
Last edit: 06 May 2022 12:07 by benguru. Reason: Formating was not correct

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 May 2022 12:43 - 06 May 2022 12:45 #242132 by andypugh