Mesa 7i97 analog out issue

More
27 Jun 2022 22:31 - 28 Jun 2022 03:02 #246028 by pmaskale
Background:
I am working through my first LinuxCNC project. I’m an electronics engineer and am relatively versed in servo systems, feedback devices and control loops. Though I am stuck, I have to say that I love the idea of this controller and will probably love it even more once it cuts metal. Already planning a future lathe retrofit.

I am currently retrofitting an old but free 1985 Bridgeport R2E4. Luckily all of the old controls were repairable and after a bit of troubleshooting and replacing a component or two I was able to successfully test out the system with it’s old controls. The old velocity controls have now been severed form the drives and all of the critical things interfaced to my 7i97. So far I have drive enable, home switches, and all 3 axes of encoder feedback wired up, scaled, and reading properly from AXIS via LinuxCNC 2.8.2. I’m using a pretty basic ini and hal config that was generated with pncconf for an older Mesa Card (since the 7i97 is currently not supported in pncconf)

Problem:
I am stuck at the analog out. I seem to get nothing from the analog outs. I’m testing solely with the Y axis now as I have the servo assembly removed from the motion stage.  When I enable the drive my servo drifts slightly with the growing position delta displaying on AXIS. When enabled, I expected the system to counteract the servo drift and stop(workie), go unstable(too much P), or runaway (sign reversed). Instead, nothing happens. I get zero analog out (verified with o-scope). I increased the following error parameter giving me time to jog the Y both ways with no change in output voltage.

I successfully tested the 7i97 directly from the HAL CMD line. Enable the output channels and send a value from 0-1 to get the -10 to 10v out. Because this works, I assume it is something in my hal, ini, or my understanding of LinuxCNC.