Sabre 408 with 7i96s + 7i77

More
10 Oct 2022 14:36 #253887 by percramer
Hi all,

i am a complete newby to LinuxCNC but I can learn quickly... I own a Geber Sabre 408 and I am changing it's controls to linuxcnc. I ended up buying a 7i96s + 7i77 for it. That was mainly because there were no other analog servo driver boards available in the EU (and I also have another machine I would like to convert in the future, with stepper drivers so I ordered a 7i96s for that one also). I had quite some help from Erik here from the Netherlands, but he moved to the Philippines today :-)

For the Sabre I am only using the 7i77 at this moment, it is connected to the P1 connector of the 7i96s, so I am using nothing else of that card. I finished all the rewiring and that all seems to work. So I am now at the point that I need to setup everything with pncconf and there I am a bit stuck at this moment. I am running 2.8.4 and the 7i96s is available there, but no option with a 7i77. I found some other posts that say I could just use the 7i96 + 7i77 combination, but I don't see that one either. 

There also was mentioned to flash the board etc using mesa flash with a bit file. I downloaded the support files for the 7i96s, but there are no bit files in there. Just bin and pin files for each card. There is a 7i96s_7i77D which looks usable, but how do I flash this one. Since mesaflash doesn't seem to accept bin/pin files. If I download the support files for the 7i96 then there are bit files in there. Am I missing something or did mesa change something?