7i96S

More
19 Oct 2022 20:54 #254558 by reynolds087
7i96S was created by reynolds087
Hi,
I am brand new to LinuxCNC, currently using FluidNC and looking to switch. I recently bought an EliteDesk 800 G1, and a Mesa 7i96S. I am a little concerned because I have seen some various forums where people say that you need a special (preempt-rt) Kernel to use an Ethernet controller like the 7i96S. Are there any beginners guides that provide a step by step tutorial on doing a fresh install of LinuxCNC with a Mesa 7i96S? Did I make a mistake going with this hardware and is it going to be very complicated to install a compatible version of LinuxCNC?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Oct 2022 21:33 - 19 Oct 2022 21:34 #254559 by JPL
Replied by JPL on topic 7i96S
Easiest way is to download the "LinuxCNC 2.8.4 Debian 10 Buster PREEMPT-RT ISO" from this page: linuxcnc.org/downloads/

This does include everything you need for a full install of Debian and linuxcnc. You can then choose to either install on your hard drive or test directly from a USB memory stick.

More info is available here: linuxcnc.org/docs/stable/html/getting-st...etting-linuxcnc.html

I believe that this is much easier than it looks to get started. Although there's indeed a learning curve the support here is just plain fantastic and you can always ask if you get stuck anywhere during the process.
Last edit: 19 Oct 2022 21:34 by JPL.
The following user(s) said Thank You: reynolds087

More
19 Oct 2022 21:46 #254560 by JPL
Replied by JPL on topic 7i96S

... Did I make a mistake going with this hardware and is it going to be very complicated to install a compatible version of LinuxCNC?