Some basic MESA questions

More
04 Apr 2023 10:29 #268248 by poesel
I'm new to LinuxCNC and the MESA boards, and I'm trying to understand some things. The following is my current understanding of how this works. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

First, the boards differ in how they are connected to a PC. There are PCI boards and there are Ethernet boards. The main difference is basically where the board is located.

Then there are daughter boards which extend the capabilities of the mother boards. They are connected by a DB25 cable or RS485 connection. The daughter boards cannot work without the mother boards.

The next characteristic is, how many I/Os a board has. Being an FPGA, an I/O can be programmed to be anything: input, output, serial, PWM, etc... Given the requirements, one must choose a board with enough I/Os or extend it with a daughter board.

The I/Os may be equal from the FPGAs view, but they are not equal wrt to their electrical characteristics. A 'normal' I/O has a 5V TTL level, can sink or source only small amounts of current and is not short circuit resistant. So you need a board that fits to your sensor or actors. Or you use a TTL board and do all the protection and level shifting yourself.

Correct so far?
Next step would then to list and count the number and type of I/Os I have on my machine and find the MESA board that fits best.

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Apr 2023 12:13 #268257 by tommylight
Yes, that seems right.
But to make it easier, get a Mesa 7i96S ( they seem to be in stock ) and play with it, it is much better than reading a lot of dry info.
I used a lot of Mesa boards (over 80 by now, i think) never had issues, not a single one, and the support is the best by far.