Taking advantage of ECM2 closed loop

More
26 Oct 2010 23:31 - 27 Oct 2010 11:25 #4887 by magyaria
Hi Everyone,

I'm a hobby machinist, I converted an IH mill to CNC using EMC2.
I use Gecko 320 servo drivers, brush servo motors with belt drive reduction to ball screws, rotary encoders on the ball screw ends. The system works OK with the known issues of the Gecko drives.

I started a new project, I convert a Hardinge 2nd operation lathe to CNC. I would like to take advantage of EMC2 closed loop control since my budget is low.

I'm looking for hardware recommendation where I can use a cheap interface board for all I/O-s (servo motor PWM or step/dir, differential encoder signal, limit switches, E-stop, ect.).

For servo driver I would like to use servo amplifiers only driven by EMC2 PWM or step/dir signal. I would like to use the EMC2 as closed loop servo controller, so I do not plan to use any intelligent servo driver.

Any good idea or recommendation is welcome.

Attila
Last edit: 27 Oct 2010 11:25 by BigJohnT. Reason: exchange smart quote for regular so message shows up

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Nov 2010 04:42 #5364 by jmelson
I have a number of products that might be helpful. If you want to use Gecko 320 drives again, I have a step pulse generator that can be used with my "Gecko Interface" to get true closed loop operation. The Universal Stepper Controller powers the encoders, reads the position and feeds it back to the PC. The Gecko Interface makes an opto-isolated copy of the encoder signals and feeds that to the Gecko drives. It also resets the Gecko drives when you come out of E-stop and detects if any drive goes to the fault state. A faulted drive or going to E-stop powers the drives off and applies a braking resistor to stop the machine.

Another option is to use my Universal PWM Controller and PWM servo amps. The controller reads position from the encoders and generates PWM signals to control the drives.