Need Hardware Choice Help

More
16 Feb 2011 17:07 #7247 by Maglin
Hello all. I'm just starting out on my first CNC project and thinking EMC2 might be the ticket for my control software. First the machine.

BF20 Mill converted to CNC with 5 TPI ballscrews, 3 Axis with a 4th and possibly 5th axis in the future, Spindle Control for use with ridgid tapping., ATC with pneumatic drawbar

Now I was going to go with stepper motors but not to sure if I shouldn't just use servo's. I was going to go direct drive stepper with 2x 570oz motors and 1 906oz motor driven by Keling digital KL-5056D drivers and a C35 break out board.

Well I want to kept the electronics under $1K if possible. I already have a PC that showed something like 12K for servo latency and 10K for max latency I think it was. They where all under 15,000 which I've read is stealer. I want precision and maybe servo control would be the best bet when using EMC2. I'm very electrically inclined so I can handle just about any install with ease just I don't know what to use.

I want to take full advantage of closed loop operation or should I say full advantage of EMC2. I don't want missed steeps as some of the things I'm looking to mill need precision and .001" could possibly ruin the piece.

So would stepper motors be ok for this or do I have to go Servo drive for what I'm asking?

If Servo drive can I go direct connection or do I have to use like a 2:1 belt drive setup?

The Mesa hardware looks amazing but their are so many options and FPGA cards I have no clue which one to go with. The 5I23 and 7I43 looks to be a good solution. I'm also wanting to use a pendant for manual control when needed and the 72 I/O pins seems like the ticket, but I could always just use a PP interface for a pendent as well, or a USB one. I don't know what daughter cards if any to get to actually hook into the I/O pins of the 5I23 or even the 7I43 if it is maybe a better option.