Combi Mill Pro 3000 conversion

More
09 Sep 2012 19:36 #24099 by RatAston
I have a Combi Mill Pro 3000 vertical mill that I am planning on converting to CNC, the mill used to have cnc control, so has ball screws but has been converted to manual.
I also have five SEM MT30F 4-45 DC servo motors and mountings from a bridgeport conversion (I think it was an Anilam conversion). The mountings should fit the Combi Mill as it is a bridgeport clone, but a bit bigger with a 54" x 10" table and ISO30 taper to the spindle.

I would like to use these motors if I can.

Looking through the posts on this and other forums it looks like I can use a Messa 5i23 with two 7i29's

Is this the best option? and what do I need to do about encoder/tacho/resolvers? The motors state Tacho 9.5V/1000rpm on the data plate.

Also any suggestions on power supplies for the motors?

I am new to the world of CNC but I have some background knowledge of electronics. I am based in the UK.

Thanks in advance for any sugestions.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Sep 2012 20:20 #24104 by andypugh
RatAston wrote:

Looking through the posts on this and other forums it looks like I can use a Messa 5i23 with two 7i29's

Pico might also be worth a look: www.pico-systems.com/motion.html

what do I need to do about encoder/tacho/resolvers? The motors state Tacho 9.5V/1000rpm on the data plate.

Anilam tended to use tachos on the motors and linear scales on the slides. Getting tacho feedback into the digital domain is slightly troublesome.
I think you would probably want to swap the tachos for encoders, though there are other options.

Also any suggestions on power supplies for the motors?

At 165V I think that the 7i29 looks to be intended for simple rectified US mains. A building-site 110V transformer, a beefy rectifier and some big, low-ESR caps might be one solution.

I am based in the UK..

There are quite a lot of us who are. Welcome aboard.

More