Spindle options for desktop mill G0704

More
19 Mar 2014 03:57 #44961 by library
I have a grizzly G0704 which is a popular conversion to cnc but most people use Mach. As a Linux systems administrator I prefer Linux.

I would like to add a position controlled spindle motor. The G0704 comes with a 1HP brushed DC motor. I would like something around 1.5-2kW (2-3HP) that can do rigid tapping and will spin at 5000 rpm. I would like to spend $500 but could stretch to $800 if needed. From my research I have a few options

1) Use a brushed DC motor (treadmill motor) and add an encoder. LinuxCNC can use the encoder to position the motor. Cheap and easy. Can LinuxCNC cope with a pulley ratio on the spindle? IE if I setup a belt drive with a 1:2 ratio can I inform LinuxCNC of that and the encoder pulses will be read accordingly?

2) Use a brushless DC motor and a controller. There are a lot of e-bike and electric vehicle components that look perfect for this. The problem is most of the motors are about 8 inches wide which is too big to fit on top of my mill. I need something about 4-5 inches. It's also really hard to find a 2kW motor, there are lots of 500 watt motors and 5kW motors with nothing inbetween.

3) Use a full on servo motor with drive. I really don't know much about this despite spending over 10 hours researching it. I think I could use an AC brushless servo motor and the Mesa 8I20 card but I'm not sure what else I need. Seems like I need a 200-400v DC power supply too. The whole matching servo motors to drives seems expensive and if something breaks I would possibly need to replace both.

4) Use a VFD and a 3 phase motor with an encoder on the end. The problem with this is the 56 frame motors seem to be the only ones out there and they are too large. Is there a smaller frame size?