Rambaudi V2 to CNC conversion

More
22 Nov 2014 02:20 #53269 by steven4601
Hello,
Ill introduce myself as this is my first post here on LinuxCNC forum pages.

My name is Steven, I am from the Netherlands and I am an electronics design engineer currently working for a company specialized in switchmode power converters.
Interest are Power electronics, model air plane building and flying, Lathe-turning, milling, building & driving electric vehicles.

To cut a long story short, I Recently bought a big old Rambaudi V2 milling machine. Its quite a beast by means of size & mass if I would be asked to describe it.
it is very similar to the manual Bridgeports that are in every 2nd youtube video on milling machine operations.
The quill is copied I think, as the R8 collet holder is identical.
The differences are mainly in the xy mechannism (huge worm screw on the x, and ball screw on the Y if I am not mistaken) and the Ram of the machine does not rotate over to the wrong side.
Additionally it has not only a rotating but also a tilting neck that is a rare option on these machine.

The best information I have found about this milling machine was on this site: www.lathes.co.uk/rambaudi/page2.html

My manual milling excersizes have progressed to the level where I can cut gears needed for my next project...
Turning the Rambaudi V2 into a CNC machine

I am somewhat familiar with Linux, have been using it as my desktop OS for the past 6 years, however I am totally new to the Linux CNC world.

Hoppefully someone can help me get in the right direction with a few questions.

1.The CNC conversion shall be closed loop by means of steppers and Linear scales. What interface cards should I get? Mesa 5I25 & 7I85S ?
2. The Home/index signal from glass-scales, whichs posistion is it generally located?
3. What PC platform is a good & reliable start ? eg. all recent Mini ITX with PCI bus connector available apply?