Don't hit me - I'm a newbie!

More
08 Sep 2015 23:44 #62276 by Micromet
I'm an amateur electric guitar builder and want to get into CNC surface routing/engraving for designs on the front of guitars - solid wood, maple, mahogany, etc. of dimensions 450mm x 350mm x 10mm maximum - but these carved tops are often split down the middle and I can probably move and clamp the wood pieces along the long axis - so can get away with a 300mm x 200mm table operation area. I don't want to spend a lot of money on a machine only to find I don't often use it or don't like the results.
And I've always been an open-source advocate from way back - yes I'm quite old. I currently run Mageia 4 as my OS - so if I use LinuxCNC I will probably have to compile it myself, dual boot Ubuntu or use a dedicated PC.

So here is where you don't hit me - there are any number of 3 axis CNC 3020T Desktop Router/Engraving/Drilling/Milling machines on the UK Ebay site. They all look more or less the same and cost around £350 including Mach3 software. Are they any good - for my type of use?
I'm not a newbie workshop operator having both bench-top lathe and milling machines in my workshop - so I understand about what you can and can't do with mini machines.
Question 2. All these machines use a parallel port for communication - so despite the machine looking modern, they are using old communication technology - will this be a problem in using LinuxCNC?
Question 3. You can get Parallel Port-to-USB conversion cables - might this be the way to go to avoid needing a parallel port on the motherboard or a Parallel Port card?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Sep 2015 00:12 - 09 Sep 2015 00:13 #62278 by cncbasher
ok just a brief outline to cover , as i'm away for a few hours, and will not be home for a while .
but thought i'd cover a few points

those cnc routers are really only for light work , and no good at all for serious wood that you need , they just are not sturdy enough