How do I get started with replacing excellon CNC 6?

More
06 Aug 2018 20:43 #115687 by nerdjuice
So I am a network administrator and know very little about these machines. I was originally asked to look at this CNC 6 to see if the 5.25 floppy drive could be replaced with USB. My question as I have been doing my research, why do we need this old CNC 6 controller at all? But my question is, how to I physically interface with the machine? I know that is not likely a simple question, but if you can send me some resources to start figuring that out, I would appreciate it!

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Aug 2018 23:43 #115703 by bevins
What type of machine is it?

The first thing I would check is the motors and drives and see if you can control the drives..( proprietary interface? +-10v? step/dir? etc...).

That's a good place as any to start.

Once you get that straightened out, check how many inputs does the machine use and how many relays required.

Then start figuring out the logistics of operating it, depending what type of machine it is to see if LinuxCNC is a valid option.

That's where I would start.
The following user(s) said Thank You: nerdjuice

More
07 Aug 2018 00:08 #115706 by nerdjuice
It's an Excellon Mark 5.

Other than that, I don't know how to answer any of your other questions

More
07 Aug 2018 13:10 #115742 by nerdjuice
Basically my resources right now consist of operators who only understand "I insert disk, machine go vroom vroom" and an outside company that bills us a substantial amount of money to just keep patching this thing back together and does not express any interest in helping me figure out how to completely bypass this machine they keep fixing.

More
07 Aug 2018 13:28 #115743 by bevins
Post closup pics of motor labels and drive labels and someone here can help.

More
07 Aug 2018 13:59 #115744 by nerdjuice

More
07 Aug 2018 14:01 - 07 Aug 2018 14:08 #115745 by bevins