How to fit a tool into the spindle?

More
27 Nov 2018 10:36 #121459 by uptown47
As you can probably tell by the title of this post I'm a complete beginner with CNC.

I've just built my own machine and I'm busy finalising / tweaking things ready for it's first run.

I've watched a lot of YouTube videos of fantastic pieces being made and they quite often change 'bits' during the cutting. Starting with a rougher bit and then changing to a finer bit and going over the whole thing again.

I've done some reading and I've read that the way to do that is to use two different G-codes. One for a course cut and then another for a finer cut. However, I was curious how you know the 'bit' is at the right height after you have swapped it?

Are you supposed to fit the tool as far as it will go into the spindle? Or is there a prescribed method to have the same amount of tool poking out the end of the spindle?

If I were to change the tool it would be easy to leave more sticking out than the previous tool and your cuts would therefore be deeper (assuming the Z axis moved to the same position)??

I'm sure there's a really simple answer to this and it's probably sooo simple they don't even mention it in YouTube videos but thought I'd ask how people get around this?

Thanks for any help you can give me. :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Nov 2018 11:14 #121465 by Clive S
Just do a quick google for tool touch off similar to this
The following user(s) said Thank You: uptown47

More
27 Nov 2018 11:46 #121469 by uptown47
That's great Clive. Thank you for posting it. Very much appreciated.

I'm at work at the moment but I've had a quick flick through and it looks ideal!

I'll sit and have a proper watch when I get home later.

Thanks again

John :)

More
27 Nov 2018 13:30 #121470 by andypugh