Advice on buying Taig mill for use with Linuxcnc

More
04 May 2019 21:40 - 04 May 2019 21:50 #132775 by dorkshoei
I'm a Linux software developer. Have been for over 20 years. Over 30 developing for Unix so I'm comfortable with Linux.

I decided I wanted to upgrade my existing Seig X2 manual mill. I pondered converting but a) it's a project and I have too many other 1/2 to 3/4 stalled projects already b) I want to spend the limited time learning CNC c) researching, the Taig mills seem to hold their value on the used market.

So I was looking to get a Taig mill.

I like the idea of a package deal.

I've found the following:
- Deepgroove1: www.deepgroove1.com/
- Soigeneris www.soigeneris.com/taig-2019-cnc-mill-kit

but they are both selling systems intended to be used with Mach3. There isn't unfortunately much transparency regarding the manufacturer of the motors.

Deepgroove uses the Gecko G540. Soigeneris has their own STDR-4C "controller" which seems to be a box containing a Gecko G540 plus an Ethernet smoothstepper. I'm very familiar with the preempt_rt Linux kernels and a SmoothStepper would seem somewhat redundant with a real-time kernel.

Here are the questions I have:

1) Does anyone know of anyone who sells a package known to work well with Linuxcnc? Or what components would you recommend and from whom? The only machine I have in my shop is a laptop running Windows 7 (32bit - required for old electronics interfacing) so I'm probably looking at building a new PC for this system so I can get something with a parallel port. I would like to know what brand and rates of steppers I'm buying.

2) What is peoples view on the leadscrew (2019) vs ballscrew (5019) versions of the Taig? Deepgroove claimed backlash on the 2019CR (leadscrew) is 0.0001" and on the 5019CR (ballscrew) it's zero. Do these match others experiences. 0.0001" seems too good to believe and would seem to undermine the existence of the more expensive ballscrew version.