Interface with Dyna DM 2400

More
15 Nov 2019 11:04 #150414 by johanneshk
Hello,
I'm thinking of buying a Dyna DM 2400 (see this site with a lot of information on this machine: members.optusnet.com.au/swensenr/DM2400.html ) . This would be my first CNC machine and so I'm new to anything CNC related. I do have some experience with CAD, but no CAM. The machine runs it's own instructions, see the Google Drive link on the website above.

Here's my question: I'd like to be able to run the machine with G-code so I could use standard CAD programs. Obviously I could do a retrofit and replace the control and steppers with modern equivalents. But are there alternatives? Assuming I can get a connection with a PC up and running, I should be able to run line by line instructions of the Dyna programming language. Now I wonder: Could I write a translation script from G-code to the Dyna language and then run that? Does that make sense? And could I further create a board (e.g. based on Raspberry PI or whatever) which handles the RS232 on the one side and provides a USB or Ethernet interface for me to run G-code which is then automatically translated?

I guess I'd like to determine if this is in principle possible. Then I would need to decide whether it's worth the effort, or doing a retrofit is actually the better solution.

Again, I'm new to this and looking to learn.
Thanks,
Johannes

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Nov 2019 12:20 #150417 by tommylight
Nice little machine, seems to me it is the same as having a fashion model for a girlfriend : it looks awesome but chances of living together are slim to none, and slim is out of town !
If the price is right, i would retrofit it for sure, going through all those hoops in this day and age is not reasonable. Otherwise i would stay away from it.

More
19 Nov 2019 12:59 #150637 by andypugh