Stepper Motor Rotation Limit?

More
24 Jan 2020 17:58 #155660 by dzawacki
Not sure if this is the right board for this, but I'm in the process of upgrading the electronics on an old Dahlgren engraver I got for cheap. I have little experience with CNC hardware and I'm wondering if what I'm experiencing is normal, a hardware issue, or a software issue.

I'm running LinuxCNC 2.8 with a Mesa 7i96 board and a DM542 stepper driver. I'm using the z-axis motor for testing. It is an 8-wire motor which I believe is wired in parallel.

What I'm experiencing is that when I press and hold the keyboard key to move it, it will only spin for 8 full rotations and then it stops. If I lift the key and press it again, it continues to spin for another 8 rotations.

So is this normal, like a limit built into the jog function or something?

Thanks in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jan 2020 18:28 #155665 by Clive S
Are you using Axis gui or are you using the test in stepconf linuxcnc.org/docs/html/config/stepconf.html

If you are then depending what setting you have at 7.1 Test area

More
24 Jan 2020 19:30 #155669 by tommylight
[quote="dzawacki" post=155660
What I'm experiencing is that when I press and hold the keyboard key to move it, it will only spin for 8 full rotations and then it stops. If I lift the key and press it again, it continues to spin for another 8 rotations.

[/quote]
That is normal and it is spinning for the amount set between Min_limit and Max_limit in the ini file. for that axis.

More
24 Jan 2020 20:21 #155675 by dzawacki

Are you using Axis gui or are you using the test in stepconf linuxcnc.org/docs/html/config/stepconf.html

If you are then depending what setting you have at 7.1 Test area

Axis GUI

More
24 Jan 2020 20:23 #155676 by dzawacki

That is normal and it is spinning for the amount set between Min_limit and Max_limit in the ini file. for that axis.