Newbie Q: Guide or Tips to managing tools - 16 ATC CNC Mill - fusion360

More
19 Feb 2024 21:52 #293794 by camb0
Hi All,

(let me know if I should delete and post this in a different location).
This is more of a workflow question, I was wondering how people manage all of their holders and tools,  and subsequently also how they manage the tool-list in software between linuxcnc and their CAD/CAM in my case fusion360.
I'm a newbie at CNC machines and never worked in a machine shop. 

So far I've been learning/playing so every tool has a holder and stayed in position in the carousel.   Now I've starting to use a few more tools (threadmilling) and I need to swap tools out from the carousel to make space for the tools for the program I’m using.   I've ended up adding more tools in Fusion and their count is above 16 and then editing the gcode with the actual tool holder position.  This seems a bit clunky to me.

I've got 20 tool holders which is more than the 16 changer can handle and I assume I’ll have to change a few bits in those tool holders from time to time. I saw there’s a nice bit of software to sync fusion360’s library with Linuxcnc here: github.com/ntc490/fusion360. Of course, that’s a very small part of the story.
 I figure a potential workflow could be: (but very open to leveraging you’re collective experience).-Assume the ATC is empty
-Do the cad/cam work, build the list of tools needed for the job, looks like there’s a ‘renumber’ function in fusion.
-Load the tools in the ATC in the correct pockets and kick it off.Implications:
-Need to label all the holders (they’re not the same), tools should be ok for now.
-Manage the tool library in fusion360
-Am I missing a trick here with pocket numbers and tool numbers?Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Feb 2024 20:19 - 28 Feb 2024 20:23 #294639 by B.Reilly01