Novakon Mill Conversion - Getting Started

More
21 Feb 2024 22:30 - 21 Feb 2024 23:48 #293932 by Whizbang
I have a Novakon CNC mill (similar to early Tormach machines). It is from 2009-ish, I bought it used for a great price in 2012 but have not put much time on it. It runs Mach3 and was always glitchy. Shortly after I purchased it, I got the idea I would do a Linux CNC conversion based on some others I saw doing it on CNCZone back in the day using the Tormach GUI (pathpilot), but I never actually got around to doing it. Also – I have little to no experience with Linux anything.

The current CNC Mill
Novakon NM-200 series CNC Mill, circa 2009       
       -Still functional, but still glitchy with Mach software
       -3 Axis
           -4th axis capable with rotary table, which I also have.     
       -Runs Mach 3
       -Has C11 G rev 8.2 breakout board
       -G203V Gecko Stepper Drivers
       -iMach P2S Pendant (I added this)
Conversion Targets
       -Keep costs minimal until concept is proven.
       -New (to Novakon Machine) computer to run Linux CNC
            -Want to keep original computer unmodified and functional
                  -The C11 breakout board and gecko drivers are still in the original
                   computer case and the ideal plan would be to jumper from them to the
                   new computer/Mesa card
       -Run Linux CNC with Mesa card
               -Currently have new, never used 6i25 Mesa planning to use
                      -After reading about others who did conversion Tormach GUI
                        (pathpilot) with mesa cards I bought one, then didn’t dive into the
                        project, so it’s a little older
      -Is there a better/simpler solution that would be smarter to invest in now?
        I want to keep costs down, but if there is another simpler solution to still hit
        my targets and potentially save A LOT of time then I am willing to consider
         the investment.