What's my next step?

More
22 Apr 2009 22:10 #132 by fishead
What's my next step? was created by fishead
Hello Everyone.

I'm new to CNC and Linux, and am working on building a machine in my basement, but just don't know which direction to take next.

I have been dreaming of building a cnc router for PCB fabrication for a while, and have been working on it one step at a time. My problem is that I just finished building my stepper driver circuitry, and am now stumped.

Instead of buying an off the shelf stepper driver circuit, I constructed my own using a pic 16f84a microcontroller and 8 sweet little power transistors. If anyone needs help with a similar project, I am willing to share my schematic and stepper code.

I tried using Mach3 software under Windows XP, but just couldn't get the step pulses to be stable enough for any useful movement. Because EMC came as a live CD, I booted it up and liked it so much I installed it on a second HDD for dual booting. This is odd for me because normally I give up on linux software after getting frustrated with nothing working.

Because I don't have a machine yet (I have some sweet linear bearings and an awesome idea, just no real machine) I stole my son's Etch-a-sketch and attached my motors to it using some fuel line and hose clamps. Yeah, I'm a red-neck. After some tweaking and adjusting, I got my "machine" to draw the "EMC2 AXIS" splash screen on the etch-a-sketch. What a thrill!

My problem is, what next? After the emotional high of seeing my machine work, I don't know what to do next and have hit a big low. I have spent a lot of time going through the web looking at my options, and have seriously got myself confused.

I think my main concern is that I don't want to waste precious time learning in the wrong direction. I am pretty good at drawing stuff in Google Sketchup, and have experimented with various export plugins with no immediate success. Is there hope down this route?