Is G-code a good enough output from CAM?

More
18 Feb 2013 05:37 #30230 by arvidb
I'm new to CNC machining (although I've done some manual milling on a small machine and done some prototype work with Solid Edge and Pro/DESKTOP). But CAM and G-code are new areas to me.

CAM seems according to most sources to be the process of producing G-code out of a part drawing. But to be able to produce a sensible tool path, wouldn't one need to know a lot about the actual machine and tool combination, like: can the machine handle climb milling, what's its maximum acceleration, what's the maximum spindle speed and machine feed rate, how deep a cut is possible, etc.? So generated G-code is specific to a certain machine?

On the whole, I guess path planning comes down to a compromise between surface speed and chip load, given the machine's characteristics; acceleration limitations, velocity and spindle speeds etc. (?)

Think about a finishing cut going around a corner of small (but nonzero) radius: to keep the chip load up, one would need to either accelerate sharply or lower the spindle speed around the corner.

Or, again, think about a radial finishing cut along an edge. To keep the chip load up the feed rate would need to be very high (due to the small radial engagement). (If the machine can't keep up, what would be the best strategy: to lower the chip load, or to lower the surface speed?)

When produced by a CAM program, G-code looks sort of like a lossy compatibility layer (between drawing and machine) to me. Am I missing something, or is this actually the case (due perhaps to a lack of other/better standards)?

With "G-code-less" CAM directly in the machine controller, one would perhaps not need things like the "naive CAM detector", feedrate & spindle override, G61/G64 path control etc.? Is this how it works in larger commercial machines?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Feb 2013 06:44 #30234 by Todd Zuercher
Yes

Yes