CAM idea I want to share, looking for feedback

More
14 May 2014 00:48 #46902 by JoeHildreth
Hello All,

I have spent the past few weeks trying to learn the Qt library. I am by no means a programmer, but still I am driven by what I see is a fundamental need in the linux community for a simple CAM program that non-programmers can use. Now I know that there have been a couple of apps ported to Linux from the Windows world but they seem to be either several versions behind, or not really supported. At least the last time I looked.

So I thought to myself that maybe I could try writing such a beast. I may be way over my head here, but at the very least I want to try and do something, if nothing else for the learning experience.

So I have been looking at the QGraphicsView and QGraphicsScene classes thinking that these are the ones that I would need to use. I also realize that the computer coordinate system if flipped compared to the cartesian plane (well the Y axis is). And there are probably many other things to take into consideration. And that leads me to the following:

1) I know there are some Qt programmers here. Would anyone like to do a project like this? Or maybe lend some helpful advice?

2) What would this project look like. As a simple program I would like to have the following functionality to start with.

* Open and import a DXF drawing
* Set the work area position (for example x0, y0 is the center of the workpiece and z0 is on the surface)
* Select a machiing operation from a list (profile, drill, pocket, engrave ...)
* Select the geometry to create the above toolpath for. Keeping in mind feed and cut rates as well as cut dpths
* Save the resulting G Code with any needed specific code in the header to run on the machine (set units, set plane, etc)