Importing CAD/CAM files

More
13 Apr 2011 16:59 #8842 by dedetc
I have experiences working with CNC Routers and CNC Plasma; doing 2D designs and then generating tool-paths. But I have no experience on programming. I have tried to install several CAD/CAM software in Ubuntu but I always hit a brick wall when I need to do some programming in the install procedure. For example, Paycam: it requires me to install several Python packages, so I did; Then it requires me to enable the UNIVERSE REPOSITORY; to temporally add the KARMIC REPOSITORY????? It says something about doing this in ROOT???? I am totally lost here. Another example is Gcodetools: it says to "Unpack and copy all the files to the following directory /usr/share/inkscape/extensions/ and restart inkscape". Totally lost again! Some other software say something about “running on Wine for EMC users” ?????

Any ways….what I´m thinking of doing is to install a CAD/CAM software in another computer using Windows. It seems a lot easier for someone with no programming knowledge to do installs in Windows. So I will use CAD for 2D designs and CAM for generation toolpath in Windows and then import my file to use EMC2. Can I do this? What file formats can be imported with EMC2?

Thank you very much.
Carlos.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Apr 2011 17:30 - 13 Apr 2011 17:31 #8844 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Re:Importing CAD/CAM files
To start with the "Enable Universe" bit open System/Administration/Synaptic Package Manager. You will have to give it your password. Now go to Settings/Repositories and check Community Maintained Software (Universe).

While you have the package manager open you can search for and add all the python requirements for PyCam. Also if you search for QCad you can install it as well from the package manager.