Hello (First post), please send me in the right direction

More
29 Nov 2023 14:51 - 29 Nov 2023 14:59 #286790 by slowpoke
  Hi,First post, I have zero experience with LinuxCNC, I came hear to get educated.I previously did a CNC conversion of an old round column mill using steppers and Mach3 (about 10 years ago). I'm an electrical engineer by training so hopefully that will help.I have a new 8x30 knee mill and I want to try LinuxCNC this time I have near zero direct experience with Linux. To be clear this is for hobby use so I would like to use low cost components wherever I can get away with it, I won't be making NASA type stuff just hobby stuff so if the machine approaches 0.001" repeatability I will be very happy. I'm swapping in ballscrews at this time.System as I envision:
  • Four x  T6 ac servos, AFAIK the controllers for these accept step and direction pulses much like a stepper and take care of closing the loop and are provided with some form of tuning software (yet to be tested).
  • 8 limit switches
  • Spindle speed encoder
  • Scales possibly up to four
  • Eventually I will make a custom control board for jogging etc, but hope to use GUI for the short term

Hopefully someone can answer my preliminary questions:

1) For a CPU board, what is powerfull enough?   I have a RPi, not sure if that is even close to powerfull enough. I also have more of a PC type SBC EPIA Nano-ITX not sure if it can run Linux?  Suggestions for a suitable CPU board please?

2) I can randomly start reading posts, however if there is a starting from zero tutorial somewhere, please provide a link and hopefully I can come back less clueless with more focused questions?

3) What version of Linux should I be loading on the CPU board? is it free?

4) Suggestions for required break out board, someone suggested Mesa 7196S, not sure if there is better or cheaper. I'm all ears?Image of my old custom control panel that I made for my RC mill quite some time ago.Thanks in advance

Attachments: