Fischertechnik Interface with XY Plotter

More
13 Nov 2013 04:23 #40773 by Flo1K
Hey Guys,

My name is Florian and I'm new to this kind if stuff.

I recently purched an old XY Plotter for small money and I wanted to use it with linuxcnc.

The problem is, the interface that cames with it isn't working as usual. It has an 8 bit shift register for I/O which is controlled by the parport. Now I question if it is possible to get a configuration that works with it.

Se this schematic for more details: www.ftcommunity.de/ftComputingFinis/interft.htm

So far,
Florian

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Nov 2013 19:37 #40784 by andypugh

The problem is, the interface that cames with it isn't working as usual. It has an 8 bit shift register for I/O which is controlled by the parport. Now I question if it is possible to get a configuration that works with it.

Possibly.

I can't really read German. Is the data sent digitally, or as step and direction signals with a clock and/or multiplexer?

Skunkworks recently managed to get an Emco lathe working with LinuxCNC which uses direct phase drive + a clock signal.
www.linuxcnc.org/index.php/english/forum...uxcnc-painless#36812

If it is a digital communication protocol, then Mesa, Pico and Pluto interfaces work this way, so it is entirely possible to do it, but a driver would need to be written. This might not be anything like as difficult as it sounds. Typically you use the "comp" hal function generator to create input pins for the XY commands, then assemble them into bytes in the required format, and send them to the port with an outb() command.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Flo1K

More
14 Nov 2013 00:20 #40792 by Flo1K
Hi Andy,
thx for your reply.

As I understood, the interface outputs the state of the 8 bit output shift register directly by latching.

____Motor 1_ ____Motor 2_
| | | | | | | |
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Bit