My hybrid machine will not make my life easy :)

More
27 May 2014 03:36 #47368 by sigmounte
Hi , i'm currently making a laser cutting machine .

For the X and Y axis , i already have the mechanics who use servo ( optical encoder + 12 DC motor )

For now it look simple ....

But .. I got my hand on a system for controling the distance from the laser head to the material , professional , precise etc etc

Badly it use a stepper motor for moving the laser head .

Being a total newby with emc2 ( i can use the stepper conf wizard without any problem ) , i will have to create this hybrid conf manually , so here are my questions :

- PmcConf look to be able to make hybrid ( stepper / servo ) configuration , but i need a anything i/o card , they don't look really cheap , anyone have a good plan for an equivalent / clone ?

- Is there somes samples anywhere of hybrid conf ??

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 May 2014 08:29 #47379 by andypugh
What are you using to control the servos?

More
27 May 2014 12:04 #47381 by sigmounte
certainly an Hbridge with pwm.capability . but not specific card in mind

More
27 May 2014 16:02 #47385 by andypugh

certainly an Hbridge with pwm.capability . but not specific card in mind

You might be able to use the parallel port, but that doesn't really do fast-enough PWM to drive an H-bridge directly, and there isn't any guarantee of "dead-time" between different channels, so shoot-through is likely if you try to use 6 of them to drive a three-phase bridge directly.
(perhaps there is a good argument for adding a /out channel to the pwmgen with a programmable dead-time)

The base Mesa cards are not horribly expensive, the 7i43 is one way to get a fast PWMgen and/or stepgen from the parallel port and costs $80 and the 5i25 is a PCI card for $90. Both (with the right firmware) can generate H-bridge drive signals directly.