Automated homing of X and Y axis

More
05 Nov 2014 08:42 #52790 by FireNWater
First post here. . . hope I'm in the right area . .
I have a Probotix V90 3-axis mill that I've been running on Mach 3 for about 3 years. A couple months ago I decided to give LinuxCNC a shot and have had good luck with it so far. I have nearly everything working as it was using Mach 3 and hope to get some help here.
The homing of the Z-axis is mostly working. I need to issue the homing command 2 or 3 times before it will finally change the Z axis to "homed". I believe it is a config file issue and I'll post a video of the homing sequence later for everyone's comments, but for now it works OK.
To home the X and Y axis, I built a homing tool that uses a 2" diameter copper pipe that is centered over a 1/8" peg. On Mach 3, I used a bit of code that would slowly move the X axis until it touched the pipe, return, go the other direction until it touched, then split the total distance to center. Repeat for the Y axis. I can't find a picture of my tool, so I'll have to post that later if I get some responses here.
I realize that LinuxCNC is mostly "roll your own", so I was hoping to at a minimum get pointed in the right direction as to how to add code that controls the mill, or hopefully code that someone else has already written for this task.
Thanks again in advance for any help you folk can give me.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Nov 2014 15:39 - 05 Nov 2014 15:39 #52799 by blacksheep
Maybe a video would be really helpful to analyze the behaviour. LinuxCNC drives with "Homing Speed" to the reference switch (in your case the copper pipe), slow down as soon it is touched, move back and touch again with slow speed to be more precise.