Dyna Myte 2400 milling machine retrofit

More
28 Feb 2015 00:35 #56340 by muzzy101
I have a rather general question about retrofitting a Dyna Myte 2400 tabletop milling machine. I'm a student in an engineering automation class that is working on this project and I am not very knowledgeable about this entire process but I am learning. We have purchased a Gecko G540 stepper motor drive, a mesa 6I25 Mother card, and a mesa 7I76 daughter card to communicate with the existing stepper motors for axis control and to hopefully control the spindle. Is this hardware configuration correct and what should our next step in the process be?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Mar 2015 01:48 #56360 by cmorley
This seems correct.
Now you must configure linuxcnc to the specifics of the hardware.
You can try pncconf but you won't find the 6i25 on it. you can use the 5i25 then after change all '5i25' text with 6i25 in the HAL files.

or you can start with a sample hm2-stepper config (you will have to supstitude names with it too)

Chris M
The following user(s) said Thank You: muzzy101

More
22 Apr 2015 07:28 #57987 by muzzy101
Thank you for the input! I have been successful with the hardware I mentioned. I can control x, y, and z. The problem is in controlling the spindle. I haven't gotten very far yet, but we have attempted to use the existing spindle controller and it's power supply. I'm sending the signal input from the Mesa 7I76 card using the TB-4 spindle outputs. While attempting to create a configuration for linuxCNC, I can control the stepper motors for each axis in test mode, but I have not been able to activate the spindle. Is this method sound or should we control the spindle another way?

More
22 Apr 2015 20:55 #58006 by andypugh

Is this method sound or should we control the spindle another way?

That rather depends on what sort of spindle it is, and what signals the spindle drive expects.
Is it an AC motor driven by an inverter / VFD?