How do .comp files work?

More
29 May 2019 15:49 - 29 May 2019 15:53 #135282 by AgentWD40
(This is a programming discussion and I'm not sure which forum to post it in)

Newbie here just trying to learn how everything interacts. At the moment I'm studying the plasmac.comp file that @phillc54 wrote:
github.com/phillc54/linuxcnc-plasmac/blo...ponents/plasmac.comp

I do have pretty basic programming experience as a hobby dabbling here and there over the years. That does include some gnu c/c++.

To this point I've been using this doc to help get my bearings.

Questions:
So, I gather a .comp file is a specialized c file. Is it just specifically something used by linuxcnc? Or is .comp a standard filetype for the gnu compiler?

The plasmac.comp file appears to be just one big unnamed function, with most of the logic in one big switch statement on a machine state variable. How does the linuxcnc system call this function? I guess it has to be called from a loop somewhere. How fast is this loop called? Is there a chart somewhere that illustrates the order of execution, precedence, etc.?

Does a FUNCTION(_) not use a return variable?
Last edit: 29 May 2019 15:53 by AgentWD40.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 May 2019 15:57 #135284 by bevins
Replied by bevins on topic How do .comp files work?

(This is a programming discussion and I'm not sure which forum to post it in)

Newbie here just trying to learn how everything interacts. At the moment I'm studying the plasmac.comp file that @phillc54 wrote:
github.com/phillc54/linuxcnc-plasmac/blo...ponents/plasmac.comp

I do have pretty basic programming experience as a hobby dabbling here and there over the years. That does include some gnu c/c++.

To this point I've been using this doc to help get my bearings.

Questions:
So, I gather a .comp file is a specialized c file. Is it just specifically something used by linuxcnc? Or is .comp a standard filetype for the gnu compiler?