Abysmal latency test on reasonably powerful PC

More
10 Jun 2021 06:35 #211670 by thanks4opensource
Hi. Experienced Linux user, CNC newbie here. Buying a first CNC mini-mill (lifelong dream!) and want to use LinuxCNC which I've heard about since its beginnings.

Installed linuxcnc-2.8.0-buster.iso on a Gigabyte GA-965-DS3 motherboard with 2.13GHz Core2 Duo 6400 CPU, Nvidia GeForce 7600 GS graphics card, and 4GB of memory. Yes, it's a 14 year old machine, but was only retired 18 months ago for an 8 core 32GB AMD Ryzen 3700X monster because web browser bloatware finally caught up with Linux and 4GB wasn't enough. Except for the memory, performance in day-to-day usage between the two machines isn't that noticeable.

But running the LinuxCNC latency test on the Gigabyte gives "Max Jitter (ns)" around 3 million (3ms) for the "Servo thread (1.0ms)". "Base thread (25.0us)" is a little better, maybe 2 million. This is with nothing else running -- `top` shows "rtai-app" at 20% on one core, otherwise that one is 80% idle and the other 100% idle. I tested with both the Live system and installed/booted from the hard drive -- no difference. Pressing "Reset Statistics" drops the numbers down to around 40000ns for a fraction of a second but then right back to 3 million. I tried with the parallel port set to SDD, EPP, and ECP in the BIOS and got the same results with each.

On a whim, I booted the live system from the ubuntu-10.04-linuxcnc3-i386.iso image and got around 43000/20000 for the servo/base threads. Even running `glxgears` (eats 90% of one core) and opening Firefox doesn't change those numbers much.