IHSS57-36 with 7i92 don't move

More
13 Sep 2021 00:20 #220382 by markusk
i'm a bit at a loss here. granted, i'm a noob, so what else to expect ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

short intro: i'm trying to retrofit an early 90ies Newing Hall engraving machine (x/y table with pneumatic solenoid tool) with some modern controller, tinkered with a smoothieboard/smoothieware yet but figured i could as well get a bit more knowledge and gain more flexibility by using linuxcnc.

researching over the last year i decided to 'go FPGA' right from the start, and i'm rather confident that i understand the concept enough to do it - but still i lack lot's of basics. also the motors seem to be (judging from search results on this forum) rather exotic which makes it hard for a beginner.

before getting into details of wiring/hal/configs may i just describe the symptoms i get - maybe that tells enough:
everything's powered, connected, starting linuxcnc/axis gui i try to jog a motor. but it doesn't move - it just "spits" what feels like a single step (or not much more) at the end of the commanded movement. and no matter if clicking + or - it's always the same direction.

i'm currently trying to make sure that the wiring really is correct as it somehow looks to me like this could be it - but even trial and error didn't change anything so far.

any idea what i might be missing?

tia,
markus.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Sep 2021 00:54 #220384 by tommylight
Wiring and timing, set timings to at least 5000 both for step and 20000 both for dir.
Those are located in the .ini file with the same name as the config folder.
The following user(s) said Thank You: markusk

More
13 Sep 2021 02:24 #220390 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic IHSS57-36 with 7i92 don't move
In addition to timing, how is the 7I92 wired to the drives?

More
13 Sep 2021 08:29 #220412 by markusk

Wiring and timing, set timings to at least 5000 both for step and 20000 both for dir.