LinuxCNC terminates at startup after adding input pins with pnCConf for mesa7i76

More
29 Dec 2021 12:09 #230215 by pCNC
Hi,

I'm new to LinuxCNC, and I've run into the first problem I could not find the answer to in this or other forums...

We're building a pretty standard cnc machine with tandem axis, and using a mesa 7i76e card for the real time stuff.
I'm running Debian Buster/10 now and have the ethernet connection and communication running (finally  )
The configuration I was planning to use to get started still causes linuxCNC to terminate, only now with the message that a pin does not exist, so I started from scratch with the pnCConf.
I can add the main X, Y, Z and tandem Y2 axis, and change the mode for the mesa board. LinuxCNC can start this configuration and we can jog the axes. However, as soon as I add a (hypothetical) home switch, the configuration won't start anymore (linuxCNC terminated with an error). (We haven't gotten round to installing the home switches yet)

The error I get is: pin "hm2_7i76e.0.7i76.0.0.input-08-not" does not exist. 
Any other input or output pin gives the same result.

I'd add the error report, but I can't find the temp folder it's supposed to have been written to... (and copy paste doesn't work either).

Any ideas as to what's going wrong? (or how I can provide more useful info...) I feel like I'm overseeing something simple...

I followed this tutorial to get started: rainydayprojects.ch/linuxcnc/mesa-7i76e. Maybe I need to flash one of the other available firmware files?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Dec 2021 12:29 #230220 by rodw
Well, you have an invalid pin name and should be an easy fix
Here is what I would do.
1. Always Start linuxcnc from the command line while building your config as errors will be printed in  the terminal
2. The error should tell you the line number.