Tandem Y Axis - Can't Jog Both at the Same Time

More
28 Jan 2023 04:26 #263047 by reynolds087
I set up tandem Y axis for my gantry in PNCConf. I have a mesa 7i96s, and my gantry will be dual motors with auto squaring. I can jog each Y motor individually in gmoccapy by using the 1+ and 1-, or the 2+ and 2-, but I can't jog both sides of the gantry simultaneously. In the mesa card settings, under TB1/TB2, I have 1 set to Y Axis StepGen, and 2 set to Y2 Tandem StepGen. 

Can anyone explain the process of enabling auto squaring and how I can jog the gantry as one axis? I have attached the files that I believe to be relevant, but I am totally new to this, and just taking a shot in the dark. Let me know if you need any more info. Thanks
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Jan 2023 04:34 #263048 by PCW
Have you homed the machine? You can only jog joints until the machine is homed

More
28 Jan 2023 07:31 #263058 by reynolds087
Thanks, you are right. After clicking the homing buttons for each axis, I can jog the Y motors simultaneously as one axis. Although, homing is behaving differently in LinuxCNC than I am used to in GRBL. It is not seeking the limit switch and then automatically homing. When I click the button, it just sets the current position to home...

How do I get it to use the limit switches to set the home position?

More
28 Jan 2023 10:20 #263066 by rodw
Please take the time to read the section n the docs on Hominc Configuration
You have not set HOME_SEQUENCE on your joints and the joint Y axes needs an identical negative value...
ALso review the section there on Immediate Homing which seems you have enabled.

More
28 Jan 2023 21:28 #263122 by reynolds087
Thank you. I've updated my files, and it does appear to now attempt to home. However, let's take the z axis, since we can ignore the auto squaring for a moment, when I attempt to home it, I get the following errors:
"joint 3 on limit switch error"