Sequential Serial Number Engraving?

More
12 Jan 2018 21:10 #104359 by helmholtz
I was looking for a subroutine that can engrave sequential serial numbers but having a hard time finding one that was written for LinuxCNC. I have some work experience with Fanuc macro programming but you use a lot of GOTO statements there and that doesn't seem to work in LinuxCNC, in addition to a lot of other syntax changes, that are making it hard to even get started. I'm a machinist by trade and have ZERO computer programming experience outside of industrial machine controls and even then pretty limited on the macro side.

I have a Tormach mill at home and using Pathpilot but I would imagine the subroutine would be the same as in LinuxCNC? and yes, I'm aware they have a little conversational screen to engrave a single serial number, but I need to engrave 25-50 parts per cycle. Also their program only works along the X-axis, and lastly it doesn't seem to even support G68 commands, so I'm really dead in the water here.

If anyone has a sample program that would be relevant to help me with the basic structure and syntax it would be really helpful.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Jan 2018 21:44 #104361 by andypugh
Not a perfect fit, but something a bit like this might work:

forum.linuxcnc.org/20-g-code/27169-g-cod...linders?limitstart=0

It has a subroutine to engrave each digit, and then another bit o G-code works out which digit to engrave in each position.
The following user(s) said Thank You: helmholtz

More
12 Jan 2018 21:54 #104364 by Todd Zuercher
If you can make a Fanuc custom macro code that can do it, post it here and someone could help you convert it.