idea for "enhanced machining interface" - semi-automatic physical user interface

More
30 Dec 2022 22:11 #260578 by piflixe
Dear LinuxCNC community!

Maybe I am not the first one to the idea for an interface that would integrate enhanced CNC functionality into a simple-to-use manual interface. At least I don't know of any such a project or available product. I tried to create a short brief of the idea in this Document. It is very brief on purpose - I would like to get some feedback from you and start the discussion and would be very happy to add more details and ideas later. I have been thinking about this for over ten years know but always lacked the capability and ressources to implement something of such complexity.

So my questions:
  1. does anyone know something like this exists already?
  2. what are your thoughts on the idea and functionality? Would you see value in this?
  3. could anyone imagine to help implementing this into LinuxCNC?
My background is more mechanical and in our team the software people do not have sufficient ressources and detailed knowledge of LinuxCNC. So I could only support this by structuring the idea and project and designing and prototyping the actual physical interface. Of couse I would be keen on testing and evaluating this as well! I would like to maintain the opensource character of LinuxCNC and additional components but I could still imagine working commercially on some aspects of this idea like selling the physical interface, integrating this into professional workshops or similar.

Excited to hear your comments and start the discussion!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Dec 2022 01:49 #260599 by Todd Zuercher