Can I modify Linux CNC GUI and distribute it without paying any subscription

More
14 Dec 2023 04:11 - 14 Dec 2023 04:26 #288094 by abhishek
I'm reading about LINUX CNC and exploring about 5 axis CNC machines. I am exploring different ways to modify the UI of the CNC machines and distributing it commercially but it has to be done without buying any kind of subscription or spending any money.

Please forgive me if I'm asking any wrong or dumb questions as I'm completely new in this field and have started exploring about this 3 4 days ago. Also please correct me if wrote something wrong.

So my question is that do I have to pay something or is there any kind of subscription required if I am using existing GUI like
  • Axis
  • Touchy
  • Gscreen
  • gmoccapy
  • QtDragon
  • QtDragon_hd
  • Probe Basic

or if Im modifying above GUI's using
  • Glade
  • GladeVCP
  • PyVCP
  • QtVCP
and distributing it commercially?

I also heard that if I'm using using pyQT then I have to pay for the subscription if I have to use it commercially. Is this correct?

while I was scrolling Internet and YouTube, I found some videos explaining how to install Probe Basic and how to edit the existing GUI using glade VCP. And I'm thinking to implement the same.

But the only thing is that I'm unaware whether do I have to pay something if I'm trying to implement any existing and modified UI and make that commercially available.

Apart from the above queries I'm also searching on how to develop CNC UI using java or another front end frameworks like reactJs, javascript etc so that i do not have to pay anything if I have to distribute it. Is this feasible for developing UI for CNC or is it better to modify existing UI and then distribute it commercially without paying anything?
Last edit: 14 Dec 2023 04:26 by abhishek.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Dec 2023 05:24 #288095 by rodw
You need to comply with the therms of the GPL LIcense