Homing and optimisation issues, massive ferror, help!

More
31 Aug 2023 07:48 #279453 by 1ChipCarver
Greetings!

I'm a mech engi student and as a part of a course I have to set up a LinuxCNC control system of a model aeroplane wind-tunnel testing setup. It consists of a model aeroplane inside a wind tunnel that is moved into different orientations by 2 servos, and forces on the aeroplane are measured by a sensor. So there are 2 relevant axis, B and C, one servo per axis, and thus 2 angluar joints. Should be pretty simple, right?
Now, I've assembled the 3D model in Vismach, created the HAL file by myself, and the .ini file with the Pentapod config's .ini as a rough template (basically all relevant parts are new). The animation moves corrrectly and terminal reports no errors when I start it up by "linuxcnc [.ini name]".

But for the life of me, I cannot get it to home properly, the following errors are gigantic, and even changing and testing ANY setting in the Calibration window makes the whole thing go haywire (it starts rotating wildly, and if I recall correctly even estop doesn't stop it). 
Homing starts in the correct direction, but blows past the home switch and the limit switch and stops at roughly double the angle at which the simulated home switch stands (I've capped the wcomp for joint1 at 43 degrees, because that's when the aeroplane starts hitting the walls of the tunnel). I had to increase the FERROR and MIN_ERROR TO 300 and 50 (degrees) to not simply error-out immediately. 
I've turned every dial and lever I could think of, but I'm running out of ideas and frankly, time. So I could use a few sets of eyes to take a look at the HAL and .ini files for any glaring errors.