Intel D510mo board

More
18 Apr 2010 19:49 #2624 by Bob
Intel D510mo board was created by Bob
Hi, I am new to Ubuntu and EMC2 but have run BDI on a sherline mill for a number of years. Am not familiar with Linux much at all, so have been playing with the live-CD. I have tried live CD on a number of laptops and found (not suprisingly) that the latency is a problem. I am trying to build up a simple ITX system for a project where I need to simply run one or two stepper motors. I have put together s simple system with the D510mo atom motherboard. I have looked a lot on the web to see what others have done and it was not clear that anyone has managed to get this card to work, although it is generating a lot of interest. Well I have the system together and was able to get windows 7 running on it. However I have had no luck getting the Live CD in any form to boot and load ubuntu. No matter what I do i wind up with initramfs prompt. Has anyone gotten this board to work? If so are there any latency figures for it? Should I wait for another live CD release with a later version of Ubuntu? :(
or should I send this board back and look for something else?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Apr 2010 11:09 #2628 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Re:Intel D510mo board
For my Hardinge the mobo was too new for the live cd so I downloaded the 8.04.4 version of Ubuntu and loaded that then went to the wiki site and followed the instructions there for installing the rest.

John

More
19 Apr 2010 18:44 #2630 by Bob
Replied by Bob on topic Re:Intel D510mo board
Thanks. That seemed to get me at least into Ubuntu. However I hit the problem that the Ethernet connection does not work. Saw a lot of stuff on the web about driver problems with the Realtech chip used on this card.