New Installation LinuxCNC Crashes/Hangs computer w

More
23 Jun 2013 00:46 #35925 by Sferix2
Newbie here, needing some help getting LinuxCNC running please. I have installed LinuxCNC but when I run it, it crashes/hangs the computer and needs a reboot to recover. Steps I have followed are:

I Downloaded ubuntu-10.04-linuxcnc3-i386.iso from this site, burnt the ISO disk and installed it afresh on computer. It installed Ubuntu 10.04 and LinuxCNC 2.5.0, with no updates or upgrades (network disconnected).

I ran the Stepconf wizard ok but when I tried the Test Axis panel it failed with a Broken Pipe error. I read thru the troubleshooting guide and found I was getting the LAPIC error "error inserting '/usr/realtime-2.6.32-122rtai/modules..." .

I followed the steps to fix the LAPIC error and after reboot I could run the Test Axis panel in Stepconf and jog the axes around, hooray ! However when I run LinuxCNC proper it just crashes/hangs the computer, and needs a reboot to recover.

I connected the network and let ubuntu update manager apply updates (not upgrading from 10.04). I now have LinuxCNC 2.5.2 on Ubuntu 10.04. However when I run LinuxCNC it still crashes/hangs the computer. The kernel is 2.6.32-122-rtai.

When I run LinuxCNC the message window shows 9 lines before it hangs.

1: ( AXIS "splash g-code" Not intended for actual milling )
7: ( LinuxCNC 19/1/2012 2:13:51 PM )
8: G21 G90 G64 G40
9: G0 Z3.0

and then it freezes.

I've repeated the install from scratch and still get the same problem. I've read the Troubleshooting guide but can't find any further help there. I've scanned the forum, but also haven't found any further help for this problem.

Hands up I'm probably missing something, but it's new, I don't understand what's wrong and I'm no linux guru. So I'd appreciate any help/guidance to troubleshoot the problem and get it working please.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Jun 2013 16:06 #35943 by ArcEye
Hi