Precise 12.04 with D525MW

More
07 Jun 2014 19:25 #47770 by Tom_R2E3
Hi. Hope this hasn't been covered before, I've had a look around but couldn't find info on this problem.

I've just installed 12.04 on a machine using Intel D525MW, all good.

I followed the Wiki to install the Rtai Kernel which went OK. When I boot, grub gives me the option of ..rtai-2. If I choose it, Ubuntu starts to boot, then I get a blank screen (as if there is a graphics problem).

To get around this at the moment: If I choose ...rtai-2 (recovery mode) then when faced with the options (resume, clean, grub etc.) I just choose "resume normal boot" it boots up fine...

I'm very new to Linux and don't know how to go about solving problems like this. Anyone got any suggestions?

Many thanks

Tom

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jun 2014 21:46 #47774 by ArcEye
Replied by ArcEye on topic Precise 12.04 with D525MW
Hi

Doing some searches reveals several strange problems with video, 12.04 (especially with later kernels) and the 525

If running dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg from a terminal does not sort it I would switch distros.

There is no need to use Ubuntu at all and plenty of reasons not to; bloat, slow response, wannabe windows 8 tendencies, to name but a few.

I would just install Debian Wheezy (7). I have a 525 running it with no problems and resolutions up to 1980 x 14?? on the i915 Intel driver

The 3.4.55-rtai-2 kernel packages will run quite happily on Wheezy, I have them on this machine

regards

More
08 Jun 2014 00:18 #47776 by Tom_R2E3
Replied by Tom_R2E3 on topic Precise 12.04 with D525MW
Hi, thanks for getting back to me

I did as you suggested and managed to boot with the rtai kernel. It detects that I have two screens, laptop and something else. Once I've disabled one of them it works OK. However, I'm having trouble getting it to recognise both my mouse and touchscreen at the same time. Already starting to dislike 12.04