latency test freezing

More
12 Sep 2015 01:07 - 12 Sep 2015 06:47 #62476 by colton.S9
i recently tried to install linux on a new computer and got an error telling me that linux doesn't support windows 6.2.9200 SOP yet. to get around this issue i downloaded Oracle VM Virtual Box to set up a separate machine with no systems to interfere with the linux download. it seemed to work, the 2.7 download and set up went smooth, but once i tried the latency test the screen would freeze. i tried a few more times with the same result. i then installed the 2.6 version hoping that it would work but it reacted the same way. I'm new to linux and not a computer wiz so if anyone has any information to fix my issue i would greatly appreciate it.

Processor 1.4GHz
Ram 4GB
System 64bit
Hard disc 8G
Last edit: 12 Sep 2015 06:47 by colton.S9. Reason: not enough info on first attempt..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Sep 2015 03:41 #62480 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic latency test freezing
Posting what hardware you are running and perhaps the kernel logs (dmesg)
would make it easier for people to help

More
12 Sep 2015 06:48 #62487 by colton.S9
Replied by colton.S9 on topic latency test freezing
PCW how do i look up the kernel logs?

More
12 Sep 2015 08:41 #62489 by PCW
The dmesg command will print the kernel log, that is, in a terminal window type

dmesg

if you want to paste the results here you can re-direct the output to a file:

dmesg > someoldfilename

More
12 Sep 2015 17:58 #62493 by BigJohnT

More
12 Sep 2015 18:15 #62495 by PCW

i downloaded Oracle VM Virtual Box to set up a separate machine with no systems to interfere with the linux download. it seemed to work, the 2.7 download and set up went smooth, but once i tried the latency test the screen would freeze.

The real time portion of LinuxCNC (including the latency test) will not run
(It may crawl) under a hyperviser Like Virtualbox.