LinuxCNC 2.7.3 Latency-Test strange results

More
12 Dec 2015 15:38 #66872 by Paciente8159
Hi there,

I'm trying to install a bare minimum linuxcnc 2.7.3 on an old PC (about 17 years old Celeron 433Mhz+512Mb Ram) but i'm running into some problems. When I run latency-test I get some strange results. The base thread (25us) is running as low as 200ns instead of the expected 25000ns. I'm guessing RTAI is not working properly, but it's wild guess.

I'm not a linux expert so I'm hoping you guys can help me.

This is what I did:
1. Installed debian 8.2 netinst without any extras
2. added the linuxcnc repository to sources.list and updated aptitude
3.Installed the linux-image-3.16.0-9-rtai-686-pae and rebooted to the rtai kernel
4.Installed lightdm and lxde-core and rebooted
5.In lxde environment installed the linuxcnc-uspace

Any thoughts?
Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Dec 2015 17:34 #66878 by PCW
You should use standard LinuxCNC with a RTAI kernel not the uspace version of LinuxCNC

Also a 433 Mhz Celeron is likely to work better with an older OS, say Ubuntu Hardy (8.04)
so downloading the linuxcnc/ubuntu 8.04 live CD image is (IMHO) more likely to lead to a usable system

More
12 Dec 2015 17:55 #66880 by Paciente8159
Thanks for the reply.
I thought I should use RTAI version but the repository for linuxCNC 2.7-rtai is empty.
I can only install linuxCNC using the uspace

I currently using the ubuntu 8.04 version (with linuxCNC 2.5.3), but by installing this "minimal" debian, I feel the PC is alot more "responsive". Don't know if the results of the latency test will show corroborate that.

More
12 Dec 2015 18:15 #66881 by seb_kuzminsky
Hi there, thanks for trying the new 3.16 RTAI kernel. We do not yet have linuxcnc debian packages built for this new kernel, it's in an early experimental stage still. If you want to try LinuxCNC on this kernel, you'll have to build it from source.