Over 1000000 Latency

More
09 Feb 2017 22:05 #87711 by Corporall Clegg
I installed linuxcnc from the live install on an older laptop that has a parallel port with a Pentium M processor. I have tried updated and non updated installs disabled and enabled everything on the mobo to the best of my knowledge (Including the network card and usb ports) I have yet to see a latency test under one million ms I made the mistake of buying a CNC machine from Xzero after I was told I could use an old PC or laptop and linuxcnc to drive it and I am now realizing that taking the advice of using this program was a mistake. I have no linux experience and no other PC options or the money to purchase one being it is all tied up in the machine and Aspire.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Feb 2017 22:15 #87714 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic Over 1000000 Latency
If you do not need the Joint-axis feature used for gantry machines with separate motors and drives on the same axis, just use an older version of Linuxcnc iso.
I would recomend Ubuntu 10.04 as i had it and still have in some laptops. On a IBM T42 with ubuntu latency would never go above 15000 after disabling serial and infrared and other bios setings. The same laptop with Linux Mint 18.1 and Linuxcnc 2.8 gives me over 2000000 latency, so unusable.

More
09 Feb 2017 22:34 #87717 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Over 1000000 Latency
Laptops are not suggested hosts for LinuxCNC for this very reason
They often have power management hardware/firmware that can not be disabled
and interferes with real time performance.

For a low cost LinuxCNC host computer, you are much better off with an old desktop
than an old laptop

More
09 Feb 2017 22:38 #87718 by Corporall Clegg
Thanks for your quick response it slowed the whisky intake per-min-ratio to one shot instead of two.