Using a parport in 'X' mode.

More
02 Mar 2017 16:21 #88885 by Elco
I am fairly new to LinuxCNC, but have configured and ran a simple system (3 axis, only Estop and home signals). I am now trying to add probe and an MPG, by setting the parallel port in 'x' mode to create 9 inputs and 8 outputs. The card seems to have Open Collector outputs.

Is it correct that this setup cannot be configured with the setup Wizard (as it does not allow the - now input - pins to be configured with the right signals?

I followed the description for the Parport setup in the HAL manual. My assumption is that in 'X' mode the control group (pins 1, 14, 16 and 17) changes from output to input, as mentioned at the end of 10.1.2 Pins of the HAL manual (however it says "pins 1, 14, 16 and 17 are outputs in all modes" a few lines above).

It is testing the setup where I have a problem. Not running a configuration, I can start HAL with 'halrun' from the command prompt OK, load hal_parport in X mode, and list the port pins. The listing is ambiguous, for instance for port 1 it shows Direction as OUT, but creates both parport.0.pin-01-in and parport.0.pin-01-in-not. And both have value FALSE(?)

When I try to start the base-thread to read and write the port with addf parport, hal reports that the base-thread is not found.

What do I do wrong here?

Thanks for your help,

Elco

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Mar 2017 17:34 #88891 by Todd Zuercher
I have a couple of machines that use X-mode. A port will usually have to be configured for SPP mode in order to work with X-mode. X-mode will not work on a port configured for EPP.

Yes, Stepconfig is not set up to use X-mode. Probably the simplest solution is to setup the port as "out" then manually configure pins 1, 14, 16, and 17 and change the loadrt hal_parport cfg="0 out" line to loadrt hal_parport cfg="0 X" in your hal file with a text editor.