installing archived packages and files

More
28 Jan 2018 08:48 #105102 by charlyboy93
Hello all, I am new to this forum and to be honest I am not that "o fay" with social media and blogging etc.
I have been an engineer for about 25 years, however to my shame this is only the second cnc project. Your help will be greatly appreciated. Hopefully one day I can return the favour.

I hope this has been posted to the right place

I have a dell Optiplex GX240 tower. This was working fine until my hard drive went pop. I have been running Lucid lynx 10.04. ts been running a few years. After fitting a new hard drive, I have reinstalled linuxcnc lucid lynx 10.04. This is the only release that seemed to work, and it worked excellently, even on a dell!.

As you are aware this version is no longer supported. I can go through the "step config wizard" and complete the machine profile, but cannot launch linuxcnc program as Axis freezes.

I know I need to install a file "libg|1-mesa-swx11.dev" but I can't run the update manager as its greyed out, and subsequently cannot install this file via synaptic package manager even if i search for it, as this version inuxcnc is no longer supported.

How do I download and install this file from the archive server. I will need an idiots guide i.e type this....type that etc, as my knowledge of linux is very limited.

Thankyou in advance.

Graham

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Jan 2018 03:31 #105139 by Todd Zuercher
Just because Lucid is end of life, doesn't mean that you can't use it to run a CNC machine. I have one old machine instatlation that has been running Linuxcnc for years on Ubuntu 10.04 and is running the current release version of Linuxcnc. That PC is "special" since it has an ISA card (part of the machine interface) and I have not been able to get it to work with newer OSes.